Monument-National

Book your tickets
Rent our venues

Program

Book your tickets

  • ONLINE: Buy your tickets online.*

  • BY PHONE: Contact us at 514-871-2224*

  • AT THE BOX OFFICE: Address: 1182, Saint-Laurent Bld, Montreal, Qc H2X 2S5*

*Note: Service fees apply to the purchase of tickets made in person, by phone or online. Delivery fees may also apply.
Book your tickets

Rent our theatres

LUDGER-DUVERNAY THEATRE

Number of seats: 804


Canada’s oldest theatre, Ludger-Duvernay, with its vintage woodwork, red velvet seats, and rich details, casts a spell. Intricate hand-painted designs on the original ceiling and wrought iron railing tracing the balcony’s exuberant curve add to the XIX Century atmosphere. Since its inauguration in 1893, Ludger-Duvernay has been in the forefront of a tradition that values openness and creativity.

Discover and rent

STUDIO HYDRO-QUÉBEC

Number of seats: 150


The intimate Studio Hydro-Quebec marries the tactile and visual appeal of its exposed stone walls with the high-tech edge of state-of-the-art equipment. Its modular components can be assembled in many different configurations, including theatre in the round and cabaret setting. The Studio Hydro-Quebec accommodates from 110 to 150 spectators.

Discover and rent

LE CAFÉ

Number of seats: 180


Located on the ground floor of the Monument-National, Le Café is a theater with variable configuration that focuses on intimacy and usability. With a bar and versatile technical equipment, this venue can accommodate a wide range of activities - intimate performances, film screenings, launches, press conferences, meetings and seminars - in a warm atmosphere. It can accommodate between 100 and 130 people seated and up to 180 in cocktail.

Discover and rent

SALON ROUGE

Number of seats : 100

This bright and airy room is set against ornate wall-to-wall windows with original 19th century wood-work and boasts a contemporary conference table. Intimate and refined, the Salon rouge’s serene atmosphere makes it a prestigious venue for receptions, meetings, launches, and press conferences for 50 to 100 persons. It can be divided into two smaller spaces by closing its movable partition. Tables: 19

Discover and rent

4TH FLOOR CABARET | REHEARSAL ROOM

Available form mid-may until the end of August, this huge hall is ideal for rehearsals, artistic residencies - theatre, dance or music - and can be set-up to host shows for a hundred spectators. The Rehearsal Hall measures 31' X 54' X 17' in height and has a Green Room.

Discover and rent

SET AND COSTUME SHOPS

The Set and Costume shops of the Monument-National are available for rental from mid-May to mid-August, outside of the National Theatre School's academic calendar. Spacious and well equipped, these shops are suitable for the design and production of sets and costumes for artistic events of all sizes. They are located on the ground floor of the building with direct access to our loading dock.

Discover and rent

THE BALUSTRADE

The mandate of LA SERRE — arts vivants follows two mains areas: production and support for emerging artists and national and international events. LA SERRE — arts vivants position itself as collaborator and agitator between different national and international partners. Emerging artists and cultural workers have free access to the coworking space. 

Discover and rent

The history of the Monument-National

Built between 1891 and 1893, the Monument-National is the oldest theatre still in use today in Quebec and is now owned by the National Theatre School of Canada. Officially opened on 24 June 1893 by the Association Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Montréal (the present-day St-Jean-Baptiste Society), the Monument-National was situated at the historical interface between the Francophone neighbourhoods (to the east) and the Anglophone areas (to the west). With its daring architecture and imposing dimensions, the Monument-National was the first “monument,” as such, to celebrate the glory of the French-Canadian “nation” and this is why it was called the “National Monument.”

Learn more

125th anniversary of the Monument-National

On June 24, 1893, the Monument-National was officially inaugurated. To celebrate the 125th anniversary of this mythical building, we created Monumental Encounters, a web series featuring interviews with personalities whose destinies are tied to the Monument’s. Follow us on Facebook to catch them all!

#125MonumentNational

Watch the video series

Box Office Opening Hours

Monday: Closed
Tuesday: 12:00 to 6:00 pm
Wednesday: 12:00 to 6:00 pm
Thursday: 12:00 am to 6:00 pm
Friday: 12:00 am to 6:00 pm
Saturday: 12:00 am to 6:00 pm
Sunday: Closed

Student Shows

Would you like to encourage student shows at the NTS? Check out the student program!

Any questions?

Contact us by email:
info@monumentnational.com

Contact us by phone:
514-871-2224

Hey you! Yeah, you watching that pop-up box popping out of nowhere on your screen!

Are you looking for a way to register for one of our programs?

Right this way!

(you can also register to the School's newsletter and be the first to know about the our latest news)

Monument-National

RÉSERVEZ
RÉSERVEZ
RÉSERVEZ

Programmation

Réserver vos billets

  • EN LIGNE: Achetez vos billets en ligne. *

  • PAR TÉLÉPHONE: Contactez-nous au 514-871-2224

  • AU GUICHET: Adresse: 1182, Boulevard Saint-Laurent, Montréal, Qc H2X 2S5*

*Note: Des frais de service s'appliquent pour l'achat de billets fait en ligne, en personne ou par téléphone. Des frais de livraison peuvent également s'appliquer.
Réservez

Louer les salles

SALLE LUDGER-DUVERNAY

Nombre de places : 804

Cette salle à l’italienne de 804 places, dotée d’une fosse d’orchestre et d’une avant-scène mobile, compte 347 sièges au parterre, 158 à la mezzanine et 299 au balcon. Son acoustique est idéale pour la voix et pour la musique. Chaque spectateur y bénéficie d’un excellent angle de vision et d’un rapport entre la scène et la salle qui crée une forte impression d’intimité.

Découvrez et louez

STUDIO HYDRO-QUÉBEC

Nombre de places : 150

Avec ses murs de pierres et de briques, et ses ponts techniques mobiles, le Studio Hydro-Québec allie la chaleur des édifices anciens et l’efficacité des équipements scéniques modernes. Tel un meccano géant, le Studio se transforme pour répondre aux besoins de ses utilisateurs, ce qui en fait une des salles préférées des compagnies de danse et de théâtre. De multiples configurations de sièges et de scènes y sont possibles dont un aménagement en cabaret. On peut y accueillir de 110 à 150 spectateurs.

Découvrez et louez

LE CAFÉ

Nombre de places: 180

Située au rez-de-chaussée vitré du Monument-National, le Café est un lieu de spectacle à configuration variable qui mise sur l'intimité et la convivialité. Doté d’un bar et d’équipements techniques polyvalents, ce lieu peut recevoir tous les types d’activités – spectacles intimistes, projections de films, lancements, conférences de presse, réunions et colloques –, dans une ambiance chaleureuse. On peut y accueillir entre 100 et 130 personnes assises et jusqu’à 180 en formule cocktail.

Découvrez et louez

LE SALON ROUGE

Nombre de places : 100

Le Salon rouge offre un cadre à la fois chaleureux et prestigieux, où la table de conférence contemporaine et les grandes fenêtres ornées de boiseries anciennes créent une ambiance incomparable. C’est le lieu par excellence pour des rencontres de travail, pour y donner de la formation ou y tenir des déjeuners de presse. Une cloison mobile permet également de créer deux sections distinctes. On y reçoit confortablement 42 personnes assises selon la configuration voulue ou 100 personnes en formule cocktail.

Découvrez et louez

LE CABARET DU 4E | SALLE DE RÉPÉTITION

Disponible de la mi-mai jusqu’à la fin du mois d’août, cette salle est idéale pour tenir des répétitions ou des résidences en théâtre, en musique ou en danse, ou pour accueillir des spectacles en formule éclatée devant une centaine de spectateurs. Spacieuse, la salle mesure 31’X54’ sur 17’ de hauteur et dispose d’un salon vert.

Découvrez et louez

LES ATELIERS DE DÉCORS ET DE COSTUMES

Les Ateliers de décors et de costumes du Monument-National sont disponibles pour la location de la mi-mai à la mi-août, soit durant la période où ils ne sont pas utilisés pour l’enseignement aux étudiants de l’École nationale de théâtre. Spacieux et très bien équipés, ces ateliers sont disponibles pour la conception et la production de décors et de costumes pour des événements artistiques de toutes tailles. Ils sont aussi très accessibles puisque situés au rez-de-chaussée de l’édifice.

Découvrez et louez

LA BALUSTRADE

Le mandat de LA SERRE — arts vivants se déploie sur deux grands volets : soutien aux projets d’artistes émergents et production d’évènements nationaux et internationaux. Les artistes et les travailleurs culturels émergents ont accès gratuitement à l’espace de de travail communautaire offert dans la balustrade.

Découvrez et louez

L'Histoire du Monument-National

Érigé entre 1891 et 1893, le Monument-National est le plus ancien théâtre québécois encore en fonction aujourd’hui et est désormais une propriété de l'École nationale de théâtre du Canada. Inauguré le 24 juin 1893 par l’Association Saint-Jean- Baptiste de Montréal – aujourd’hui la Société Saint-Jean- Baptiste – , le Monument-National était situé à la jonction historique de la ville française (à l’est du boulevard Saint-Laurent) et de la ville anglaise (à l’ouest). Par son audace architecturale et ses dimensions imposantes, c’est le premier «monument» célébrant la gloire de la «nation» canadienne d’expression française d’Amérique, d’où son nom de «Monument-National».

Lire la suite

125e du Monument-National

Le 24 juin 1893, le Monument-National était inauguré. Pour célébrer le 125e anniversaire de ce lieu mythique, nous avons créé Rencontres monumentales, une série d’entrevues web avec des personnalités partageant leur destinée avec elle du Monument-National. Suivez-nous sur Facebook pour ne rien manquer!

#125MonumentNational

Visionnez la série

Horaire de la billetterie

Lundi: Fermé
Mardi: 12:00 à 18:00
Mercredi: 12:00 à 18:00
Jeudi: 12:00 à 18:00
Vendredi: 12:00 à 18:00
Samedi: 12:00 à 18:00
Dimanche: Fermé

Spectacles étudiants

Vous souhaitez encourager les spectacles étudiants de l'ÉNT ? Consultez la programmation étudiante !

Des questions ?


Contactez-nous par courriel:
info@monumentnational.com

Contactez-nous par téléphone:
514-871-2224

Hé vous! Oui, vous qui regardez cette fenêtre Pop-up sortie de nulle part sur votre écran.

Vous cherchez une façon de vous inscrire à un de nos programmes?

C'est par ici!

(Vous pouvez aussi vous inscrire à l'infolettre pour être le premier à connaître les dernières nouvelles de l'École)