Gideon Arthurs - CEO

École nationale de théâtre
Photo: Maxime Côté

One of the few under-40 CEOs of large cultural organizations in Canada. An ambitious, civically minded agent of change:

  • Believes that arts organizations have an important role to play in making the world a better place, but they are not doing so yet. 
  • Came to NTS to change that from the ground floor, by creating opportunities for more and different people to make and experience art. 
  • A defender of diversity, youth, art and the under-represented.

Gideon Arthurs is the CEO of the National Theatre School of Canada (NTS), the only institution in the country entirely devoted to providing professional training in all of the theatre crafts, in both official languages. He currently sits on the Board of Directors of the Conseil des arts de Montréal, is a member of the Steering Committee of the Canada Arts Summit and he was formerly the President of the Board of La Serre/OFFTA. He served as a juror for the 2015 Siminovitch Prize for Excellence and Innovation in Theatre.

Before joining NTS, Gideon Arthurs served as General Manager of Tarragon Theatre in Toronto for close to three years, where he led several important projects including improvements of the theatre’s equipment and facilities, as well as a major audience engagement program. Before that, he was the Executive Director of the Toronto Fringe Festival during a period that saw the development of a second festival presented by the organization, significant growth of the flagship festival, and the creation of a subsidized rehearsal space for independent artists.

He is Past President of the Small Theatre Administrative Facility (STAF), the former Vice-President of the Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts (TAPA) where he also served as Chair of the Audience Working Group, and was a member of the Labour Relations Committee at the Professional Association of Canadian Theatres (PACT). Previously, he served as President of the Paprika Festival, Treasurer of Public Recordings Performance, and Secretary of Pleiades Theatre. He is the founding Artistic Producer of the independent theatre company Groundwater Productions, and has worked extensively as a teacher and consultant in the field. Most importantly, he is the father of two amazing children and the husband of a genius playwright.

Team

Be the first to know all about NTS news!

Subscribe to the newsletter.

Gideon Arthurs - Directeur général

Gideon Arthurs

L'un des rares PDG de moins de 40 ans à la tête d'une organisation culturelle d'envergure au Canada. Un agent de changement ambitieux et engagé.

  • Gideon Arthurs croit que les organisations artistiques ont un important rôle à jouer dans la construction d'un monde meilleur, mais qu'elles ne le font pas encore.
  • Il s'est joint à l'ÉNT pour changer les choses à la source en créant des occasions permettant à davantage de gens différents de créer et de faire l'expérience de l'art.
  • Il est un défenseur de la diversité, de la jeunesse, de l'art et des personnes sous-représentées.

Gideon Arthurs est le directeur général de l’École nationale de théâtre du Canada (ÉNT), la seule institution au pays entièrement dédiée à l’enseignement de tous les métiers du théâtre, en anglais et en français. Il est président du conseil d’administration de LA SERRE - arts vivants, il siège au conseil d’administration du Conseil des arts de Montréal et il est membre du comité de pilotage du Sommet canadien des arts. En 2015, il a été membre du jury du prix Siminovitch d’excellence et d’innovation en théâtre, la plus haute distinction canadienne dans ce domaine.

Gideon Arthurs a occupé le poste de directeur général du Tarragon Theatre, à Toronto, pendant près de trois ans. Il y a porté plusieurs projets d’envergure, dont l’amélioration des installations et des équipements du théâtre ainsi que l’élaboration d’une vaste stratégie de participation du public. Il a auparavant été directeur général du Toronto Fringe Festival, participant activement à la croissance fulgurante de cet événement phare, au développement d’un deuxième festival présenté par l’organisation ainsi qu’à la création d’un espace de répétition subventionné destiné aux artistes indépendants.

Gideon Arthurs a notamment été président du Small Theatre Administrative Facility (STAF) et vice-président du Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts (TAPA), où il a présidé le groupe de travail sur le développement des publics. Il a siégé au comité sur les relations de travail du Professional Association of Canadian Theatres (PACT), en plus d’avoir été président du conseil d’administration du Paprika Festival, trésorier de Public Recordings Performance et secrétaire de Pleiades Theatre. Il est le fondateur et producteur artistique de la compagnie de théâtre indépendante Groundwater Productions et compte de nombreuses années d’expérience à titre d’enseignant et de consultant pour le milieu du théâtre. Par-dessus tout, il est l’heureux père de deux magnifiques enfants et l’époux d’une auteure dramatique de génie.


Pour joindre Gideon Arthurs, veuillez contacter Berry Zinga Nkuni, adjoint de direction: 514-842-7954, poste 111 ou berrynkuni@ent-nts.ca

L'équipe