Ontario NTS Festival Directory

Wayne Fairhead, NTS Festival Executive Director

Wayne Fairhead had an illustrious career in education for 38 years, teaching and advising at all levels-elementary, secondary and tertiary. He retired from the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education of the University of Toronto (OISE/UT) in 2004. Wayne has been a member of several Dora Mavor Moore and Chalmers Awards juries for Theatre for Young Audiences, including the inaugural juries for both Awards. He Co-chaired the Arts Education Expert Panel for the Ontario Ministry of Education and Training that reviewed and reinvigorated Arts Education at that time.

Wayne was the Executive Director of the Sears Ontario Drama Festival from1991 until its recent transition into the National Theatre School (NTS) Festival. He instigated equivalent Festivals in BC and Atlantic Canada a decade ago. All are now NTS Festivals. During his leadership with the Festivals he has partnered them with SummerWorks, IATSE and Playwrights Canada.

Publications include: DRAMA VOICES (Editor); “Establishment or alternative: Two Canadian models” in Learning Through Theatre (Author); “Empowerment and the changing curriculum” in the Australian  drama education magazine ADEM (Author); “Drama in Education: Canada” in Contemporary Canadian Theatre: New World Visions(Author);TYA5: Theatre for Young Audiences, Playwrights Canada,1998 (Co Editor); and Festival Voices Playwrights Canada Press, 2010 (Co Editor).

Wayne is a Lifetime Member of the Council of Drama in Education (CODE), an inaugural member of the Board of Directors for the Canadian Theatre Museum and a former member of the Board of Theatre Direct Canada. In 1996 and 1998 respectively he was the recipient of the MAGGIE BASSETT AWARD (administered by Theatre Ontario) for outstanding contribution to theatre and the FABIAN LEMIEUX AWARD (administered by the Ontario Arts Council) for his sustained and outstanding support for Arts Education. Wayne was given a HAROLD AWARD (2008) for his outstanding contribution to theatre in Toronto.

As the Congress Director for the International Drama/Theatre and Education Association’s (IDEA) Fifth Congress (IDEA2004) held in Ottawa in early July 2004 Wayne welcomed delegates from 70 countries to Canada. Two Sears Ontario Drama Festival productions (one each in English and French) were presented for the 1000 delegates.

Contact Wayne

Provincial Showcase

Coordinator: Allison Green (Almaguin Higlands Secondary) allison.green@nearnorthschools.ca 

Dates: May 20-23, 2020

Location: St.Joseph-Scollard Hall675 O'Brien St, North Bay.


The Ontario Festival includes six regions: Central, East, North, South, Toronto and West. Each region has a varying number of districts as follows:


Central REGION (3 districts)

Regional Coordinator: Laura Moniz (Rick Hansen SS) laura.moniz@peelsb.com


Peel North

Coordinator: Laura Moniz (Rick Hansen SS) laura.moniz@peelsb.com


Peel South

Coordinator: Laura Moniz (Rick Hansen SS) laura.moniz@peelsb.com



Coordinator: Mike Halfin (Retired) michael-angela@rogers.com

East REGION (5 districts)

Regional Coordinator: Jim Malyon (Holy Trinity Catholic Secondary) jimmalyon1@gmail.com

Regional Dates: TBD

Regional Location: Thousand Island Playhouse

Regional Adjudicator: TBD



Coordinator: Shera Eales (Sinclair SS) shera.eales@ddsb.ca

District Festival Dates: March 19-23

District Festival Location: Whitby Courthouse Theatre

Adjudicator: TBD



Coordinators: Barb Russel (Lindsay CVI) Barbara Russell barbara.russell@tldsb.on.ca and Lindsay Curran lindsay.curran@tldsb.on.ca


Kingston St Lawrence

Coordinator: Kevin Fraser (Kingston CVI) and Adrian Black (Perth District CI) adrian.black@ucdsb.on.ca


Ottawa Carleton

Coordinator: Wendy Gunter-Woods (Woodroffe HS) wendy.gunter-woods@ocdsb.ca



Coordinator: Jim Malyon (Holy Trinity Catholic Secondary) jimmalyon1@gmail.com


North REGION (2 districts)

Regional Coordinator:

Jeff Graham (St. Joseph’s Scollard Hall)


Nipissing Near North

Coordinators: Alan MacAskill (West Ferris Secondary School), Jeff Graham (St. Joseph’s Scollard Hall), Allison Green (Almaguin Highlands District High School)






Coordinators: Michael Buhler (O'Gorman High School),  Jesse Bergeron (O'Gorman High School)





South REGION (6 districts)

Regional Coordinators

Devin Pearson devin.Pearson@lkdsb.net

Allie Tope allie.Tope@lkdsb.net

Karen St. Peter Catton 

Brant, Oxford, Haldimand, Norfolk

Coordinator: Jonathan Mann (Cayuga Secondary School) jonathan.mann@granderie.ca


Hamilton Wentworth

Coordinator: Carm Iachelli (Westdale SS) ciachell@hwdsb.on.ca


Lambton Kent

Coordinators: Rosanna Mitchell rosanna.mitchell@sccdsb.net (Ursuline College) and Steve Mitchell   steve.mitchell@lkdsb.net  (St John McGregor)



Coordinator: Brenna McAllister brenna.Mcallister@dsbn.org


Windsor Essex

Coordinator: Kevin Noecker (École secondaire catholique E.J. Lajeunesse) noeckevi@cscprovidence.ca


Thames Valley

Coordinator: Eric Bernard (Oakridge SS) e.bernard@tvdsb.ca



Toronto REGION (4 districts)

Regional Coordinator: Kelly Beaulieu kelly.beaulieu@tdsb.on.ca


Toronto District 1

District Leader: Sara Pedrosa (Loretto College) sara.pedrosa@tdsb.org

Toronto District 2

District Leader: Leda Miles (Senator O'Connor College School) leda.dimariamiles@tcdsb.org


Toronto District 3

District Leader: Lesley Keane (Martingrove Collegiate Institute) lesley.keane@tdsb.on.ca


Toronto District 4

District Leader: Lynise Reedy (St. Patrick’s) lynise.reedy@tcdsb.org

West REGION (5 districts)

Regional Coordinators

James Brawn and Stephen Bainborough
jbrawn@scdsb.on.ca    bainboroughstephen@gmail.com 

Georgian Bay


Steven Bainborough (Retired) 

James Brawn (Bear Creek SS) 

Web Site: https://ntscdfdistricts.weebly.com/


Perth Huron

Coordinators: Stefanie Webster (Listowel DSS) and Tina Robinson (St Michael Catholic SS)





Coordinator: Andrew Renner (St Benedict CSS) andrew.renner@wcdsb.ca


Upper Grand/ Wellington

Coordinator: Tom Slater (John F Ross CVI) Tom.Slater@ugdsb.on.ca



Coordinator: Marisa Cavataio (Nelson HS) cavataiom@hdsb.ca and Caitlin Ferrone (MMR HS)

Be the first to know all about NTS news!

Subscribe to the newsletter.